November 12, 2018

Tata Literature Live! 2018 Sultan Padamsee Playwriting Awards 2018 shortlist announced

Mumbai: The Sultan Padamsee Awards for playwrights writing in English will be presented at the grand Tata Literature Live! Awards night on Sunday, November 18, at the National Centre for the Performing Arts, Mumbai.

An eminent jury of Deven Khote, Lillette Dubey and Feisal Alkazi, in a marathon effort, read through each of the 103 entries from across the world to determine the shortlist and winners. The plays were submitted to the jury without the playwrights’ names.

The shortlisted playwrights are (in alphabetical order):

  • Bettina Gracias for Watching You.
  • Riti Sachdeva for Parts of Parts. And Stitches.
  • Shiv Tandan for A Fistful Of Rupees.
  • Sneh Sapru for Hello Farmaish.

Previous winners of the Sultan Padamsee Awards have been Gurcharan Das, Gieve Patel, Dina Mehta, Cyrus Mistry, Ram Ganesh Kamatham, Vineet Bhalla, Ramneek Singh, Satinder Chohan and Faezeh Jalali. Following her runner-up award, Faezeh Jalali’s Shikhandi - The Story of the In betweens was successfully produced. Her production of Vineet Bhalla’s A Farming Story will be premiering on November 10. Ram Ganesh Kamatham’s Ultimate Kurukshetra is also being produced this month in Bangalore.

A reading of selected scenes from the shortlisted plays by a star cast of actors including Sabira Merchant, Kunal Roy Kapoor, Cyrus Broacha, Kunal Vijaykar, Mandi Padamsee, Deven Khote, Abhishek Chauhan, Priyanka Sethia, Puja Sarup, Tanvi Sonigra, Anahita Uberoi, Shruti Vyas, Yuki Elias and Krusha Mehta will take place before the awards ceremony.

Literature Live! founder and festival director Anil Dharker said: “I believe that an initiative like the Sultan Padamsee Awards has led to visible encouragement, and a growing number, of original and viable English playwriting in India, which is being very well received by discerning audiences.‎ We are proud to host this award on our platform."

The Theatre Group Bombay started the Sultan Padamsee Playwriting Awards in 1966 in memory of their founder Sultan (Bobby) Padamsee — poet, writer, artist, actor, producer and director — with the aim of encouraging Indian playwrights and playwriting about the Indian context.

Entry to the festival is free, and entry to sessions will be on a first-come first-in basis. Unlike previous years, there will not be any pass system this year.

Tata Literature Live! will run from Thursday 15 through Sunday 18 November at the National Centre for the Performing Arts, Nariman Point (Nov 15-18); at Prithvi Theatre, Juhu (Nov 17-18); and also at a new, third venue, Title Waves and St Paul’s Institute of Communication Education, Bandra (Nov 17-18).

For more details about Tata Literature Live! The Mumbai LitFest 2018, please visit:


The Tata group is the title sponsor of Tata Literature Live! The Mumbai LitFest, Tata Steel is the co-sponsor and Landmark is the knowledge partner. The festival is conceived by Anil Dharker, founder and festival director of Literature Live!, which organises the festival with the support of the Tata group.