November 28, 2017

10th edition of Tata Open India International Challenge to celebrate milestone year of nurturing the spirit of badminton

Celebrates a decade of nurturing the budding badminton talent of the country

  • Tata Open India International Challenge 2017 to be held from November 29 to December 3, 2017
  • The tournament will witness players from eight countries, along with a strong Indian contingent of 167 players
Prakash Padukone, founder and director, PPBA, with a budding shuttler

Mumbai: Marking a milestone year of nurturing budding badminton talent in the country, Tata group and Tata Capital, in association with the Prakash Padukone Badminton Academy (PPBA), has announced the 10th edition of the Tata Open India International Challenge today. This season of the much-awaited homegrown international badminton event for promising shuttlers, will begin on November 29, with the main draw commencing from November 30, and finals on December 3 at the Cricket Club of India (CCI), Mumbai. The tournament carries a prize money of USD20,000. Lui Wan from Malaysia will be the referee for the tournament.

Tata Open India International Challenge 2017 celebrates a decade of promoting and endorsing potential badminton players across Asia. This world-class platform has paved the way for players such as PV Sindhu – the first Indian Woman to win an Olympic Silver; Jwala Gutta – a world doubles champion and a 14-time national championship winner; Gurusai Dutt – Commonwealth bronze medal winner in 2014; and Grand Prix winner Chetan Anand along with numerous other players such as HS Prannoy, Ajay Jayaram, Sai Praneeth, who have dedicated their lives to the sport and have made India proud on the global turf.

In the Men's Singles category, Sourabh Verma of India is the top seed and Abhishek Yelegar of India is the second seed. International players such as Giap Chin Goh and Lim Chi Wing of Malaysia will play against Indian players such as Pratul Joshi and Lakshya Sen, promising a pulsating clash of badminton talent. There are many emerging players from Malaysia, India and Thailand in the fray to challenge the seeded players.

In the Women's Singles category, Indian players Rituparna Das and Sri Krishna Priya Kudaravalli clinched the top and second seeds, respectively. Furthermore, Yeo Jia Min and Chua Hui ZhenGrace of Singapore, Yin Fun Lim of Malaysia and Sai Uttejitha Rao Chukka of India are among the other key players.

In the Men’s Doubles category, Indian players, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty are seeded at number 1, and Manu Attri and Reddy B. Sumeeth are seeded at number 2. Of the participants in Men’s Doubles category, the seeded players to compete are from India.

The Women’s Doubles category will see Jakkampudi Meghana and Poorvisha S Ram of India along with Ng Tsz Yau and Yeung Nga Ting of Hong Kong as the top two seeded teams.

Indian players Pranaav Jerry Chopra and Reddy N Sikki, along with Yogendran Khrishnan of Malaysia and Prajakta Sawant of India, are the top two seeded teams in the Mixed Doubles category.

This year, the participating countries include India, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, Singapore, Malaysia, New Zealand, Thailand and the United States of America. India will be represented by a strong contingent of 167 players followed by Malaysia with 20, Hong Kong with 13, Singapore and Thailand with 7 each and 8 players from other countries.

Commenting at the inauguration of the 10th edition, Prakash Padukone, founder and director, PPBA, said, “As we enter the 10th year of this prestigious event, we would like to honour and celebrate the spirit of badminton and the great values it has taught us all. The Tata Open has lent a great platform to the budding players, giving them a world-class exposure within the country, which has shaped the future course of many serious badminton players. I would also like to thank the Tata group for the fruitful association with PPBA. The past decade has witnessed many thrilling moments and exciting matches. I am really looking forward to the next decade of badminton and India’s progress in the sport.”

Suprakash Mukhopadhyay, chairman, Tata Sports Club, said, “Tata Open has been a remarkable success, presenting some of the finest badminton players of the country. We have had great 10 years, but we are eager to see many more badminton geniuses emerging out of this event. I would like to thank PPBA for relentlessly supporting the event throughout; this has been a great association. We extend our heartful gratitude to the players and badminton lovers who have helped us in driving this tournament all these years.”

Avijit Bhattacharya, chief human resources officer and head, corporate sustainability, Tata Capital, said, “Tata Capital believes in doing right for its stakeholders and society at large and our commitment to support the sport of badminton is in keeping with this philosophy. We are very pleased to be a part of the Tata Open, for the 9th year running, and to be associated with the Prakash Padukone Badminton Academy, which has been tirelessly working towards the development of badminton in India. We believe that through continued corporate support, the sport of badminton will truly progress and with unique platforms for talent to be showcased, like the Tata Open, the sport should see mainstream success.”

The Cricket Club of India (CCI) Mumbai is the venue partner and will host the tournament at its state-of-the-art air conditioned badminton courts. Leading badminton equipment manufacturer Yonex is the official equipment supplier.

As part of the association with PPBA, the Tata group and Tata Capital support Tata Padukone Badminton Centres in Bengaluru and Mumbai. The centres impart top-notch training and coaching to young players who are selected on merit, and to whom training, and facilities are provided on a scholarship basis. In its short history, the academy, through the badminton centres, has produced multiple national and international level champions.

Some of the star performers from the past who have been trained at PPBA include Anup Sridhar, two-time national champion for the years 2004 and 2005 and former Olympian Arvind Bhat, two-time national champion for the years 2008 and 2010; Sayali Gokhale two-time women's national champion for the years 2008 and 2012; Aditi Mutatkar, women's national champion, 2010 and Ashwini Ponnappa a winner of series of titles, including national women doubles champion for 2009, 2013 and 2017, World Championship Bronze Medallist in Women's Doubles 2011; Commonwealth Games Gold Medallist Women's Doubles in 2010.